Need for Green

Granville Island didn’t have any green space until the 1970s. The “Mound” in Ron Basford Park was actually a large pile of fill and concrete that was cleaned up from the rest of the Island during redevelopment. The area was then covered with topsoil and grass, resulting in the green oasis we know today.

Discover More: 

Open for Business

Granville Island’s first business opened in 1917. BC Equipment Ltd repaired and assembled equipment for the mining and forestry industries....

Industrial Land

Granville Island was initially named Industrial Island, but “Granville”, named after the bridge that runs directly overhead, was the name that stuck.

Hidden History

Canada Chain and Forge occupied a number of buildings on Granville Island and their sign can still be seen on Anderson Street above the parkade entrance....