Why False Creek is “False”

George Henry Richards named False Creek during his survey of the coast in the mid-19th century. He thought he was going up a creek while traveling the south side of the Burrard Inlet, but soon discovered his mistake, hence the name ‘False’. Some of the best views of False Creek can be seen from the Granville Island Hotel patio.

Discover More: 

The Silk Weaving Studio

Open.The Silk Weaving Studio is a vibrant working studio and retail shop where several weavers produce innovative and classic hand-dyed silk garments and accessories....

GI Gelato & Coffee House

Please contact business directly for hours of operation. The Public Market is open from 9am to 6pm, 7 days a week....

Open for Business

Granville Island’s first business opened in 1917. BC Equipment Ltd repaired and assembled equipment for the mining and forestry industries....