Industrial Land

Granville Island was initially named Industrial Island, but “Granville”, named after the bridge that runs directly overhead, was the name that stuck.

Discover More: 

It Started with a Mud Flat

Granville Island was completed in 1916 using material dredged from False Creek....

Hidden History

Canada Chain and Forge occupied a number of buildings on Granville Island and their sign can still be seen on Anderson Street above the parkade entrance....

Why False Creek is “False”

George Henry Richards named False Creek during his survey of the coast in the mid-19th century....