It Started with a Mud Flat

Granville Island was completed in 1916 using material dredged from False Creek. Once a mud flat, the man-made island became home to the warehouses, mills, factories and shops that serviced local industries.

Discover More: 

Why False Creek is “False”

George Henry Richards named False Creek during his survey of the coast in the mid-19th century....

Island No More

Granville Island ceased being an island in the 1950s. The city intended to make room for more industrial space by filling in False Creek....

Hidden History

Canada Chain and Forge occupied a number of buildings on Granville Island and their sign can still be seen on Anderson Street above the parkade entrance....